Mountain Ranges In India

Purvachal Range

Aravalli Range

  • The Aravali Range literally meaning 'line of peaks', is a range of mountains in western India.
  • Old name: Arbudanchal.
  • More than 80% of Aravalli ranges lies in Rajasthan.
  • Haldighati is a mountain pass in the Aravalli Range of Rajasthan
  • It is located approximately 800 km in a northeastern direction across Indian states of GujaratRajasthanHaryana and Delhi.
  • The Aravalli range are the oldest fold mountains in India.
  • The famous Delhi Ridge is the last leg of the Aravalli Range.
  • Mount Abu is the one and only hill station in Aravalli.
  • Mount Abu is popular for Dilwara Jain temple and Karnimatha temple.
  • The highest peak in Aravalli is Guru Shikhar(1722 meters) in Mount Abu in Rajasthan.
  • Mount Abu was known as ‘Hill of Wisdom’ in Mahabharatha.
  • Numerous rivers rise amidst the ranges including the Banas River, the Luni River, the Sahibi, the Sakhi, and the Sabarmati River.
  • Thar desert lies on the western part of Aravalli.
  • Ajmir and Udaypur are the two main cities in Aravalli ranges.
  • Udaypur is known as City of Lakes.

Vindhya-Sathpura Range

  • The Vindhya Range refers to a complex, discontinuous chain of mountain ridges, hill ranges, highlands and plateau escarpments in west-central India.
  • The highest point of the Vindhyas is the Sad-bhawna  ("Goodwill Peak") Shikhar also known as the Kalumar peak or Kalumbe peak, it lies near Singrampur in the Damoh district.
  • The Satpura Range is a mountain range that parallels the Vindhya Range to the north, the range running through  Gujarat, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh to the Chhattisgarh.
  • The highest peak in Satpra Range is Dhupgarh(1350m) in Madhyapradesh.
  • Panchmarhi located in Mahadeo hills is known as ‘Queen of Sathpura’.
  •  These two east-west ranges divide Indian Subcontinent into the Indo-Gangetic plain of northern India and the Deccan Plateau of the south.
  •  The Narmada River originates from north-eastern end of Satpura & runs in the depression between the Satpura and Vindhya ranges.
  • The Narmada also called the Rewa.
  • The Tapti River originates from eastern-central part of Satpura.
  • Narmada and Tapti are two of the rivers in India that flows in a rift valley.
  • The other rivers which flow through rift valley include Damodar River in Chota Nagpur Plateau.
  • Most part of these ranges lies in Madhyapradesh.

Western Ghats

  • The Western Ghats are a mountain range that runs almost parallel to the western coast of the Indian peninsula.
  • It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is one of the eight "hottest hotspots" of biological diversity in the world.
  • It is sometimes called the Great Escarpment of India.
  • The range runs north to south along the western edge of the Deccan Plateau, and separates the plateau from a narrow coastal plain, called Konkan, along the Arabian Sea.
  • A total of thirty nine properties including national parks, wildlife sanctuaries and reserve forests were designated as world heritage sites - twenty in Kerala.
  • The range starts near the border of Gujarat and ending at Kanyakumari.
  • Also known as  Sahyadri.
  • Highest peak: Anamudi(2695m).
  • Anamudi located in Devikulam (Monnar),Iduki.
  • The second highest peak in Western Ghat: Doddabetta(2637m), Niligiris, Tamilnadu.
  • The second highest peak of Western Ghat in Kerala: Agasthyamala(1868), Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
  • Western Ghat and Eastern Ghat meets at Nilgiri.

Eastern Ghats