Constitutional Bodies in India

A constitutional body is created by passing a constitutional amendment bill, rather than by a regular, government or private bill.The different  Constitutional bodies in India are :  -

1. Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

  • The UPSC is a central agency responsible for conducting examinations pertaining to Civil Services, Engineering Services, Defence Services, and Medical Services.

  • Article 315 to 323 of Indian Constitution has a provision for such an agency.

  • The history of UPSC goes back to 1926, when it was established for the first time.

  • The agency was given the constitutional status when Indian Constitution came into effect on January 26, 1950.

  • The Commission comprises a Chairman and ten other members.

  • All the members of the commission are appointed by the President of India.

  • All the members of the commission are appointed by the President of India.

  • A member can submit his resignation at any time to the President of India.

  • Also the President can remove him on the ground of misbehavior.

2. Staff Selection Commission (SSC)

  • The SSC is an important constitutional body, which is empowered with the responsibility of recruiting staff for different ministries and departments of the government.

  • It comprises Chairman, two Members along with a Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations.

  • In 1975, Subordinate Services Commission was established.

  • Two years later in 1977, the agency was renamed as Staff Selection Commission.

  • Headquartered in New Delhi.

3. Election Commission of India (EC)

  • The Election Commission (EC) is charged with the duty of supervising, directing and controlling the entire process for conducting elections.

  • President appoints Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners for a tenure of six years.

  • Article 324 of Indian Constitution has a provision for such an agency.

  • It was established in accordance with the Constitution in 1950.

4. Finance Commission of India

  • The Finance Commission of India came into existence in 1951.

  • It was established under Article 280 of the Indian Constitution by the President of India.

  • As per the Constitution, the commission is appointed every five years and consists of a chairman and four other members.

  • First Finance Commission chairman K. C. Neogy.

  • Parliament may by law determine the requisite qualifications for appointment as members of the Commission and the procedure of selection.

5. Attorney General for India

  • The Attorney General for India is the Indian government's chief legal advisor.

  • He is appointed by the President of India under Article 76(1) of the Constitution and holds office during the pleasure of the President.

  • The Attorney General has the right of audience in all Courts in India as well as the right to participate in the proceedings of the Parliament, though not to vote.

  • He also represents the Government of India in any reference made by the President to the Supreme Court under Article 143 of the Constitution.

  • The Attorney General is assisted by a Solicitor General and four Additional Solicitor Generals.

  • First Attorney General is M. C. Setalvad.

6. Comptroller and Auditor General of India

  • The Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of India is an authority, established by the Constitution under Article 148.

  • The reports of the CAG are taken into consideration by the Public Accounts Committees (PACs).

  • The CAG is also the head of the Indian Audit and Accounts Department.

  • The CAG is mentioned in the Constitution of India under Article 148 – 151.

  • The CAG is ranked 9th and enjoys the same status as a judge of Supreme Court of India.

  • The first CAG of India is V. Narahari Rao.