• The main functions of the Vice President of India is to preside over the sessions of the Rajyasabha.

  • He is the ex-officio chairman of the Rajyasabha. However, he is not a member of the Rajyasabha hence he has no right to vote in the Rajyasabha. However, he can use a casting vote.

  • The Vice President is elected by an electoral college consisting of members of both the houses of Parliament in according with the system of propotional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

  • The nominates members of parliament also participate in the election of the Vice President. The nomination of Vice Presidential candidate must be signed by atleast 20 electors as proposers and another 20 electors as seconders.

  • Vice President is elected for a term of 5 years.

  • The oath of office of the vice President administrated by the President.

  • The Vice President can resign his office by writing the resignation letter addressed to the President.

  • No formal impeachment is mentioned in the constitution to remove the Vice President.


  1. He should be a citizen of India

  2. He should have completed the age of 35 years.

  3. He should be qualified foe election as a member of the Rajyasabha.

  4. He should not hold any other office of Profile.


  1. President

  2. Vice President

  3. Prime Minister

  4. Governors of The States

  5. Former Presidents

5A. Deputy Prime Minister

  1. Chief Justice of India, Speaker of Loksabha

  2. Cabinet Ministers of the Union, Chief Ministers of States, Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission, Former Prime Ministers, Leaders of Opposition in Rajyasabha and Loksabha

7A. Holders of Bharat Ratna

  1. Ambassadors and High Commissioners

  2. Judges of the Supreme Court

  3. Chief Election Commissioners, CAG, Chairman of UPSC